The Board of the International Association of Transport and Communications Museums is its steering committee. It is mainly responsible for the preparation and implementation of programmes and budgets. Other tasks include organisational work and the election of the Board.

Any representative of a museum that has been an IATM member for at least 12 months can become a member of the board through election during the General Assembly. The President as well as members of the Board are elected for a four-year term starting on the day of their election (General Assembly) and can be re-elected twice. The Board meets under the chairmanship of the President at least once a year, typically bi-monthly.


Joachim Breuninger

Director of the German Technical Museum (Deutsches Technikmuseum)

Recent Meetings & News

Next Board Meeting: 29 August 2024
Last Board Meeting: 6 June 2024.

Recent Meeting Minutes: Board Meeting on 7 April 2024

For further meeting minutes and news, please get in touch with IATM’s Secretary Peter-Paul de Winter at

Peter-Paul de Winter (Secretary)
The Netherlands
Head of Collection at the Dutch Railway Museum (Spoorwegmuseum)

Oliver Götze smiling into the camera.

Oliver Götze (Treasurer)
Director of DB Museum

Martin Bütikofer smiling into the camera. In the background an airplane is visible.

Martin Bütikofer
CEO of the Swiss Museum of Transport (Verkehrshaus der Schweiz/Musée Suisse des Transports/Museo dei trasporti)

Tiina Lehtinen
Director of the Finnish Railway Museum (Suomen Rautatiemuseo)

Andrew Moritz looking out from a train caboose and smiling into the camera.

Andrew Moritz
Chief Executive Officer of Transport Heritage NSW

Sam Mullins smiling into the camera. In the background the snippet of a historic train caboose can be seen.

Sam Mullins
Great Britain

A black and white photo of Stephen Quick sitting on an armchair looking into the camera.

Stephen Quick

Anja Schaluschke
Director of Museum for Communication Berlin (Museum für Kommunikation Berlin)

Jiří Střecha
Czech Republic
Director of the Czech Postal Museum (Poštovní muzeum)

Laura Wright
United Kingdom
CEO of The Postal Museum

Gabor Zsigmond standing in front of a network of train tracks and routes.

Gabor Zsigmond
Deputy General Director of the Hungarian Museum of Science, Technology and Transport (Magyar Müszaki és Közlekedési Múzeum)